| Tenure | Man. | Sask. | Alta. | B.C. | Yukon and N.W.T. | Canada |
|--------------------------------------|------------------------------------|--|--|--|---|---|
| | sq. miles | sq. miles | sq. miles | sq. miles | sq. miles | sq. miles |
| 1. Alienated, patented, granted, etc | 44,088 117 3 1,148 755 | 103,705 770 47 1,869 1,865 | 74,744 3,273 103 20,937 ⁶ 2,194 | 17,569 1,305 161 1,671 1,300 | 52 10 1,455,088 ⁵ 3,625 ⁷ 9 | 353,095 4 11,937 1,455,644 4 29,686 3 8,540 |
| Provincial Parks | 173,612 Nil | 128,036 1,683 | 147,546 3 | 320,377 16,896 | Nil " | 1,571,092 32,109 |
| Totals, Land Area | 219,723 | 237,975 | 248,800 | 359,279 | 1,458,784 | 3,462,103 |

1.—Classification of Lands in Canada, by Tenure, (circa) 1947—concluded

¹ Includes lands in process of alienation.

² Less than one square mile.

³ Includes the Gatineau Park (25 miles) and the Quebec Battlefields Park (0·36 miles) which are under Dominion jurisdiction but which are not technically "National Parks"

⁴ See footnotes to constituent items.

⁵ Includes 952,849 square miles set aside by Order in Council as native game preserves in which only Indians and Eskimos may hunt, as game sanctuaries in which hunting and trapping is forbidden, and as reserves for reindeer grazing, but which are not regarded as national parks.

⁶ Includes Wood Buffalo Park (which, although reserved by the Dominion, is not administered as a national park) and the Tar Sands Reserve (2,068 acres).

⁷ Includes that portion of the Wood Buffalo Park in N.W.T.

Subsection 1.—Dominion Public Lands*

The public lands under the administration of the Federal Government comprise: lands in the Northwest Territories, including the Arctic Archipelago and the islands in Hudson Strait, Hudson Bay and James Bay; lands in Yukon Territory; National Parks and historic sites (see pp. 33-38); forest experiment stations; experimental farms; Indian reserves (see p. 1163); Ordnance and Admiralty lands; and, in general, all lands held by the several Departments of the Federal Government for various purposes cennected with Dominion administration, including the Tar Sands Reservation comprising four areas, amounting in all to 2,068 acres, in the Fort McMurray District of Alberta. The lands and other natural resources lying within the boundaries of the Provinces of Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and British Columbia formerly administered by the Federal Government, were transferred in 1930 to the administration of the Provinces concerned.

The great bulk of the land areas under Dominion administration are those of Yukon and the Northwest Territories, amounting to about 1,458,784 square miles or 42 p.c. of the land surface of Canada. In general, the southern border of both Yukon and the Northwest Territories is 60° N. latitude. In Europe, the cities of Oslo, Stockholm and Leningrad are near this line; about three-fourths of Norway, two-thirds of Sweden, Finland and a large portion of Russia are north of it. This northern part of the national domain is under the administration of the Lands, Parks and Forests Branch of the Department of Mines and Resources. The Royal Canadian Mounted Police maintain law and order throughout Yukon and the Northwest Territories.

The Northwest Territories.—Developments in the mining industry, particularly in the Yellowknife district, accounted for much of the activity in the Northwest Territories in 1946. Although the wave of prospecting and staking that reached a peak in 1945 showed a decline, systematic examination of ground already

^{*} Prepared under the direction of R. A. Gibson, I.S.O., Director, Lands, Parks and Forests Branch, Department of Mines and Resources, Ottawa.